get in touch Email Birdwell Wheelers Cycling Club, Barnsley

13th June

Posted on

A very busy week for Birdwell Wheelers with a number of members being involved in a variety of events.

Sunday 10th June saw the 4th running of the Birdwell Wheelers Cote de Holme Moss 100km Audax cycle event. 40 riders from as far afield as Suffolk rode the challenging hilly course which took in the demanding climbs of Holme Moss, Snake Pass and Jawbone Hill at Oughtibridge, a total of 2,200 metres of climbing.

Six Birdwell Wheelers -Steve Myatt, Dave Hudson, Austin Watson, Tony Lodge, Roger Bacon & Mark Peasegood were part of the group of riders who set off from Birdwell Community Centre.

Austin Watson, Dave Hudson and Tony Lodge setting off. Organiser John Woodhouse © C Minto

Julian Humphrey of Sheffrec CC was the first rider back in 4hours 20 minutes. One of the highlights of the day was 14 year old Rose Price of Derby Mercury who was the youngest rider to complete the course. She was matched by Jim Edwards,78 of Lincoln Wheelers, the oldest rider in the event. The event went well with all riders completing the ride without any incidents. Food and refreshments was enjoyed by all on their return to HQ.

Jim Edwards,Austin Watson,Dave Hudson and Marc Peasegood at the top of Holme Moss

Last Thursday Wheeler Joe Woodhouse rode in the NMRRL (North Midlands Road Race League) over 7 laps at Torworth.

On the 3rd lap a trio of Joe Woodhouse (Birdwell Wheelers), Scott Paterson (Doncaster Wheelers) & Andy Mills (Out of the Saddle CC) opened up a small advantage, but the lead didn't last and the race came back together and it stayed that way over the closing 3 laps. Woodhouse finished in the bunch just missing out on a point scoring place.

Joe Woodhouse leading the bunch at Torworth © J Robert

Saturday saw two Wheelers compete in Time Trials. John Woodhouse rode the Bolsover & District CC 10 Mile Open Time Trial at Cuckney where he finished in a time of 28m 32s.

John Woodhouse at Cuckney © T.Wood

Paul Heggie rode in the Adept Cycling 25 Mile Open Time Trial at Crathorne and finished in a time of 1h 01m 51s.

On Tuesday the club’s 2nd of three 15 mile time trials took place at Thurnscoe, the 1st having been cancelled due to roadworks on the course. Eight Wheelers took part and fastest on the night was Trevor Mayne in 37m 59s over 6 minutes ahead of 2nd place Marc Peasegood

  1. Trevor Mayne 37m 59s
  2. Marc Peasegood 44m 31s
  3. Chris Jenkins 45m 09s
  4. Roger Bacon 46m 18s
  5. Dave Hudson 47m 55s
  6. Paul Heggie 49m 06s
  7. John Woodhouse 49m 08s
  8. Mark Lafferty 50m 44s

The 3rd event is next Tuesday at 7pm. Visitors welcome.

Sunday’s club run sets off from Brewers Fayre roundabout Wombwell at 9:15 and heads out on an 85 mile loop to Knaresborough. Visitors are welcome.

More details on this and all the above can be found in the links above.