get in touch Email Birdwell Wheelers Cycling Club, Barnsley

11th November 2019

Posted on

Birdwell Wheelers’ 2019 Annual prize dinner took place last Saturday at the Edmunds Arms, Worsborough.

It also marked the 70th anniversary of the club’s formation by Jim Carr. Guest of Honour was long standing member and ex-President of Barnsley Road Club, George Miles.


After a three-course meal George Miles presented Achievement Certificates and the following trophies:

Chris Jenkins 1st Handicap 5 Championship


Marc Peasgood 1st Handicap 10 Championship Neil Cup

Dan Emery 1st Fastest Hill Climb Competition Minto Cup


Paul Heggie 1st Fastest 15 Series Wombwell Cup

1st Handicap 15 Series Wentworth Cup

1st Handicap 5,10,15 Competition Danum Cup

2nd Evening Series 28pts Dearne Cup


Trevor Mayne 1st Fastest 5,10,15 Competition 1h 16m 42s

1st Evening Series 44pts Dearnesider Shield

Fastest 50 - 1.53.27 Hoyland Nether Cup


David Scargill Roadman of the Year Cup

Steve Myatt Merit Shield


The next day saw Steve Myatt, Philip Stewart Adams, Rodger Holmes and Austin D Watson ride a 35 mile direct route to the Windmills Cafe at Royd Moor whilst Chris Jenkins, Robert Parkes, Marc Peasegood and Chris Venters rode a longer 60 mile loop to the same destination via Holmfirth.

This Sunday’s club ride is from Brewers Fayre roundabout at Wombwell from 9am. Destination to be decided.

The club's monthly meeting is on Friday 15th at Birdwell Community Centre starting at 7:30pm. Prospective members are welcome.

More details on this and all the above can be found in the above links